Also

And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at the Lord’s feet, and heard his word.
Luke 10:39 ASV

My mind just got stuck at the word ‘also’. When I read the word also while in the story of Martha and Mary, I just got aware of the fact how lonely I had been during this time of Covid and lockdowns and not being able to just enjoy faith together with friends and church family.

Actually the word also is not part of every translation. But it was in the Dutch HSV translation that I used while being on a silence retreat again. NIV and the amplified translation which I normally read in English don’t say also. Because it wasn’t the first time I was given this scripture on a retreat, I prayed to God: “please show me something different than the last time. I know I have been to busy and I know I should sit more at Your feet.” And then God showed me this word also. Mary wasn’t sitting there alone. She was together with other people. She sat down at Jesus feet together with others. They enjoyed His company together. It is something we can do alone, but also definitely together. Being together at his feet, listening to what the Lord is saying… The fact that I have felt lonely as a Christian watching church service from home a lot and having online bible study sessions on zoom. And don’t get me wrong I really loved meeting my friends online and that we’ve all been so faithful about keeping in touch and skipping much less then in normal seasons. And also the bread and wine the church spread every time before we had communion. Things like that felt like we were in touch. But still sitting together at Jesus feet that’s what I really missed. I loved it during the retreat and also afterwards the church services I was able to go to.

For me it was a good reminder to not take my church family for granted, but to keep in touch, invest in them and to worship God together. But also to pray together, study the word and to help each other to stay focused on the things that really matter. Putting and keeping Jesus first in life. That’s what really matters. And sitting at his feet to learn, to rest and to go out again afterwards.

Leave a comment